Worldbulletin News

Worldbulletin News Worldbulletin News Portal


18:32, 22 November 2014 Saturday
13:16, 19 August 2012 Sunday

  • Share
Russian rocket with U.S. satellite set for seaborne launch
Russian rocket with U.S. satellite set for seaborne launch

Odyssey, positioned on the equator, is a converted oil rig operated by the Swiss-based rocket company Sea Launch.

World Bulletin/News Desk

A Russian rocket is set for a seaborne launch on Sunday morning to put the U.S. Intelsat 21 telecoms satellite into orbit, a spokesman for the Sea Launch company said.

The launch of the Zenit-3SL rocket from the launch pad Odyssey in the Pacific Ocean has been scheduled for 10.55 a.m. Moscow time (6.55 GMT) and the satellite is expected to be in the designated orbit at 11.25 Moscow time (7.25 GMT), the spokesman said.

The initial launch of the spacecraft was scheduled for August 15 but it was postponed several times due to various reasons.

Odyssey, positioned on the equator, is a converted oil rig operated by the Swiss-based rocket company Sea Launch.

The 5,980 kilogram Intelsat 21 is a geostationary communications satellite built by Space Systems Loral to provide telecoms services to high-growth markets around the Pacific Rim, including Southeast Asia, Australia, New Zealand, and U.S. West Coast.



Legal Notice: Copyright, trade marks and other intellectual property rights in this website can not be reproduced without the prior permission.

  • Share


Most Read



Yandex.Metrica