17 Nigerian senators to defect to opposition APC

17 senators of the ruling People's Democratic Party (PDP) will defect to the All Progressives Congress.

17 Nigerian senators to defect to opposition APC

World Bulletin / News Desk

At least 17 Nigerian senators are set to leave the ruling People's Democratic Party (PDP) for the opposition All Progressive Congress (APC) in a matter of days.

"We have about 17 senators that will defect from PDP to APC," Senator Bukola Saraki from central Kwara state told reporters in Ilorin, the state's capital.

He said the senators have already signed the necessary documents.

"I have already signed my own letter. Others have signed theirs," he asserted.

The Nigerian constitution demands that any lawmaker wanting to defect must write the speaker of the House of Representatives or Senate president stating his reasons for defections and which party he is joining.

Saraki, a former governor of Kwara himself rumored to be nursing presidential ambition, has ruled out going back to the PDP.

"So it is not a matter of probability. It must be and not a matter of months or weeks but a matter of days."

Senator Saraki said 19 senators were originally planning to defect before two backtracked.

Nigeria has a total 109 senators.

The APC currently has just 33 and the ruling party 72. Other parties share the balance.

The PDP has recently been battered by crises that have resulted in a storm of defections that began in December, when five PDP governors, including Kwara Governor Abdulfattah Ahmed, joined the APC.

They were followed by 37 federal lawmakers and another 27 state parliamentarians from the northwestern Sokoto State.

APC now has 172 seats in the 360-member House of Representatives against 171 for the PDP.

Last Mod: 26 Ocak 2014, 17:53
Add Comment