Myanmar's Aung San Suu Kyi wins Islamophobia Award 2017

In the UK category, the Islamophobe of the year announced as former EDL leader Tommy Robinson

Myanmar's Aung San Suu Kyi wins Islamophobia Award 2017

World Bulletin / News Desk

Myanmar’s foreign minister and de facto leader Aung San Suu Kyi was announced the 2017 International Islamophobe of the Year on Sunday.

Her atrocities targeting Myanmar’s Muslim minority are so egregious that she shot past other nominated international Islamophobes, U.S. President Donald Trump, French far-right party National Front leader Marie Le Pen, far-right Dutch party Freedoms Party leader Geert Wildres. 

Between 2,000 and 3,000 Muslims were killed in Myanmar's Rakhine state in the last three days, according to the European Rohingya Council and more than 617,000 Rohingya Muslims were forced to take shelter in neighboring Bangladesh.

The annual Islamophobia Awards by the London-based Islamic Human Rights Commission hosted the representatives of many NGOs and Muslims.  The program started with recitation from the Muslim's holy book of Quran.

In the "United Kingdom" category, the Islamophobe of the year was announced as Tommy Robinson – the former leader of the fascist English Defense League (EDL) – who is infamously known by his anti-Islam views.

The other candidates in this category were TV presenter and columnist Katie Hopkins, former leader of the populist UK Independence Party (UKIP) Nigel Farage, far-right For Britain Party founder Anne Marie Waters and British Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson.

Fox News also received the ironic award in the  “media” category.

The Islamic Human Rights Commission is an “independent, not-for-profit, campaign, research and advocacy organization”, established in 1997. 

Güncelleme Tarihi: 27 Kasım 2017, 21:54