Armenian President will not run for a third term

Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan says he will not seek the presidency for a third term.

Armenian President will not run for a third term

World Bulletin / News Desk

Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan has said he will not run for president for a third term, saying that one person should not claim presidency more than twice.

“I hereby declare that I will not run for presidency again. I will not be a candidate for the post of the prime ministry even if the country adopts the parliamentary system,” he said at the meeting of the commission for constitutional reform.

According to a draft report prepared by constitutional commission, which was set up by Sargsyan on 4 September 2013, Armenia will adopt a parliamentary system in which the president will be elected by parliament for 7 years only.

Sargsyan was elected as a president in 2008 and re-elected again in 2013. Before presidency, Sargsyan served as prime minister, interior and defence minister and head of national security minister. His term will end in 2018.

Last Mod: 10 Nisan 2014, 17:07
Add Comment