6 religious leaders enter parliament in Iraq's north

Six Kurdish Islamic clergymen won seats in the local parliament in the September 21 election

6 religious leaders enter parliament in Iraq's north

World Bulletin/News Desk

Six Kurdish Islamic clergymen, or mele, entered into local parliament as a result of the 21 September general election at the Iraqi Kurdish Regional Government.

Mele Idris Ali and Mele Enes Doski from Duhok and Sirac Sheik Ahmad from Irbil are chosen as deputy from the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) list. Havraman Genceni from Sulaymaniyah, Mele Omar Kocher from Duhok, Mele Garip Mustafa from Sulaymaniyah have also entered into the parliament.

Eleven religious leaders became candidate for the parliament. During the campaign time, those leaders are banned from preaching at mosques.

Iraqi Kurdistan's President Massoud Barzani's party  KDP has won the 21 September election.

Güncelleme Tarihi: 02 Ekim 2013, 17:31